Home

The rest of the documentary can be viewed on YouTube. In fact, there is a YouTube channel dedicated to Raymond Carver videos, be it of interpretations, readings, or actual recordings of the man himself.

Also, the Paris Review has open to the public the full length interview they conducted with Carver for their 76th issue. An excerpt:

Nobody ever asked me to be a writer. But it was tough to stay alive and pay bills and put food on the table and at the same time to think of myself as a writer and to learn to write. After years of working crap jobs and raising kids and trying to write, I realized I needed to write things I could finish and be done with in a hurry. There was no way I could undertake a novel, a two- or three-year stretch of work on a single project. I needed to write something I could get some kind of a payoff from immediately, not next year, or three years from now. Hence, poems and stories. I was beginning to see that my life was not—let’s say it was not what I wanted it to be. There was always a wagonload of frustration to deal with—wanting to write and not being able to find the time or the place for it. I used to go out and sit in the car and try to write something on a pad on my knee.

Finally, I want to bring to the fore the relationship between Carver and his editor Gordon Lish. In Carver’s collection of stories What We Talk About When We Talk About Love there was done to its contents so much that Carver’s second wife, Tess Gallagher, thought it pertinent enough to “exhume” and then publish the original manuscript Carver wrote before handing it over to Lish. On July 8, 1980 Carver wrote to Lish declaring his reservations over his editing cuts. The letter can be read across several sources through a simple Google search. There is a good The Guardian review of Gallagher’s edited version titled Beginners, the original title Carver intended for the collection, found here. Note also that this collection is also available in The Modern Library‘s Collected Stories of Raymond Carver.

Leave a Reply

